Review: The 100 (Kass Morgan)

20160923_203442Title: The 100

Author: Kass Morgan

Publisher: Hodder

Release: Out now!

Genre: Sci-fi, dystopia

Which animal is similar to this book? For me, this book was a rainbow boa which is a type of snake found in Central/South America. It’s not commonly kept as a pet but some people do (it’s legal, just not very popular due to their costs and they’re also rarely in pet shops/bred in the UK). However, they’re lovely, affectionate snakes and will make fantastic companions to the right people. For me, this book fit that since I very rarely read science fiction, and often find it too complicated or dull to read, but I loved this and it became a book I was quite obsessed with. So, for me, I expected to be scared off by the language and descriptions I find too complicated, but I enjoyed it thoroughly.

The blurb says: No one has set foot on Earth in centuries – until now. Ever since a nuclear war, humanity has lived on spaceships far above Earth’s radioactive surface. Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents – considered expendable by society – are being sent on a dangerous mission: to re-colonize the planet. It could be their second chance at life… or it could be a suicide mission. Clarke was arrested for treason, though she’s haunted by the memory of what she really did Wells, the Chancellor’s son, came to Earth for the girl he loves – but will she ever forgive him? Reckless Bellamy fought his way onto the transport pod to protect his sister, the other half of the only siblings in the universe. And Glass managed to escape back onto the ship, only to find that life there is just as dangerous as she feared it would be on Earth. Confronted with a savage land and haunted by secrets from their pasts, the hundred must fight to survive. They were never meant to be heroes, but they may be mankind’s last hope.

Sounds fabulous, doesn’t it? The story follows the four mentioned in the blurb (Clarke, Wells, Bellamy and Glass) and the book is told from their four perspectives, which made it much more interesting and showed how their lives were linked despite living separately. I also liked the way that the characters’ stories were revealed gradually and told in italics to separate it from the present story-line.

I absolutely love the characters! Clarke is my favourite, because I wish I was as confident as her around blood/injuries, but I appreciate Bellamy’s courage for sneaking onto Earth to look after his sister as in the environment they’re in, that takes real bravery! I also really like the premise of the book as it’s scarily realistic in the future, what with all the countries armed with nuclear weapons ready to be used, so it wouldn’t be too much of a stretch for that to happen in the future.

However, I’m not the brightest bulb in the chandelier and I didn’t think to research it, so I didn’t know it was a series of books, so now I need to buy the others…so if anyone wants to send me the last three, that’d be cool… I didn’t start to watch the series until I finished the first book, and obviously I haven’t read the others, so when the first one ended on a huge cliff-hanger, I was annoyed at myself for not having the rest to instantly read because now, not knowing what happens, will annoy me a lot! So be prepared to 20160802_160912buy them all because I imagine the others end in cliff-hangers too!

All in all, I enjoyed it a lot, which, as I said, is rare because I don’t often like science fiction, but this was a very good book! I would give it 8 paw prints out of 10 and I would also recommend that everyone reads it!

Leave a Reply

