Review: Letters to the Lost (Brigid Kemmerer)

file_002-2Title: Letters to the Lost

Author: Brigid Kemmerer

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Release: 6th April 2017

Genre: Contemporary

Which animal is similar to this book? Has an animal ever made you cry? Or made you come close to crying? Or made you feel so much emotion you just didn’t know what to do with it all? Well have you ever been to a rescue centre and read the descriptions about each dog? Rescue dogs can have horrible backstories; one was abused, one was neglected, one grew up in a puppy farm and forced to breed puppies for years, one was a stray…the list goes on, each story as tragic and sad as the last. Then, a family comes along; each dog finds the perfect home. The dogs’ stories are emotional and unless you’re pretty heartless, you’re likely to cry or at least smile a lot…This book is so emotional (heartbreaking and heartwarming) that I would genuinely compare it to a rescue dog. If it makes you both laugh and cry, then it’s got to be a dog, but this is just a bit more sad than your standard dog’s story, so it’s a rescue dog.

The blurb says: Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother’s death, she leaves letters at her grave. It’s the only way Juliet can cope. Declan Murphy isn’t the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he’s trying to escape the demons of his past. When Declan reads a haunting letter left beside a grave, he can’t resist writing back. Soon, he’s opening up to a perfect stranger, and their connection is immediate. But neither Declan nor Juliet knows that they’re not actually strangers. When life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, sparks will fly as Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart.

As I said, this book was emotional af. I wanted to cry (I did a little, shhh…), I laughed, I felt sorry for the characters and towards the end, I was a little heartbroken. It was just so heartbreaking and powerful; I wish I could re-read it over and over with the same shock and emotions. Juliet and Declan couldn’t be more different on the exterior, so it makes it hard for them to have that connection in person, but online everything can be anonymous. I loved how their personalities were so completely different, yet had small things in common online where they could be themselves.

To me, this book is a powerful statement of how different people are anonymously where they can be themselves. It’s also powerful in that it shows how much people feel they have to hide despite there being logical reasons behind their reactions and behaviours. I love that the chapters alternate between the two characters; I feel like I know them both well now and honestly I definitely want to be friends with both of them.

Revelations, drama, secrets, mystery, friendship, difficulties, cars and photography; what more could you possibly want from a book? I sped through this in two sittings and I was actually sad when it was over, although the ending was good and summed everything up (something I definitely prefer in a book); I just simply wanted more stories of Juliet and Declan’s lives.

It is sad, but cleverly and only necessarily. I love that there’s so much backstory to both the main characters (and even some of the minor) because it means there’s th20160804_163103at added mystery in the story. I honestly don’t think I can say enough good things about this because I really don’t read books like this often, yet it was so amazing and so beautifully written that I feel I should be singing its praise to anyone who’ll listen. I think I felt every emotion possible whilst reading this and I feel like I would connect to both Juliet and Declan if I knew them in real life.

Brigid Kemmerer writes beautifully, making anyone fall head over heels for her characters. You’ll want to read it over and over again and it will make you feel. Definitely 10 out of 10 paw prints from me, and I can’t wait to read more from the author!

Leave a Reply

