Geeky Clean February Crate (Wonderland)

file_001-5I’ve never had a Geeky Clean crate before and the only things I’d bought from there were two Grisha lipbalms for my Mum at Christmas (which she loves and still uses) so I was pretty much completely new to the company. I’d seen a few people praise them and describe them as though they’re the best thing in the fandom/bath products world so I decided to give them a go. The January box was based on gaming and I didn’t want to buy the crate and not understand any of the references, so I decided to wait and see what the next one was and then they announced Wonderland. I also saw a post where it was said that the theme was chosen because the creator of the boxes had read Heartless (Marissa Meyer) and that is one of my favourite books in the whole wide world so I knew this was the box basically intended for me, so I ordered it. It arrived on 1.3.17 and I can honestly say there were no mistakes made in that decision…

file_003-4The first item is the White Rabbit Shower Tablet which is a kind of palm-sized bath bomb for the shower. You throw it into the shower, but at the opposite end to the plug and it fizzes away, releasing its lovely smell/vapors into the bathroom. This particular one is white with small flecks of blue and pink, and smells of basil and peppermint. Personally, I like it because it’s very strong and smells very grown-up and mature, if that makes any sense.

The next product is the Mad Tea Party Bath Tea Bag which is a teabag for your bath, as the name suggests. You hold it under the tap and let the water push out all the sfile_005-4mell, then drop it in to fully infuse with the bath water (or that’s what I do anyway, you may just be supposed to drop it into the bath and leave it). This one smells of sweet rose, tea and woody notes and I love it because it smells very fresh and outdoorsy. I love bath tea bags like this since they usually don’t add bubbles to a bath but make everything smell really nice. Sometimes there’s colour too (although I don’t think there is with this one since it looks very natural).

Next is the Jest Soap Sample which just excited me because Jest is my favourite character in Heartless and I really hoped there’d be something associated with him. And there’s this soap, so I’d be happy file_004-5no matter what it smelt like, however it does smell of mint, basil, white tea, musk and woody amber (which is a lovely combination by the way). To me, this smells pretty masculine, strong and mysterious (all qualities Jest possesses, surprisingly), so I really liked the link to Heartless here and thought it fit well. file_002-6

Next we have the Hearts vs Chess Soap Pop which is a big old pink heart on a stick which immediately excited me because it’s novelty soap and I am easily pleased…You’re supposed to remove the stick before using but I intend to leave the stick in for as long as possible, and if that means not using it for a while then so be it! This soap smells of violet, grapefruit and kumquat which is such a pretty, girly fragrance that I kind of want to never use up the soap but also kind of want to use it everyday.

file_006-2

The final, and easily my favourite item in the whole box, is the Queen of Hearts Soy Wax Candle which is actually incredibly stunning. To be honest, when I saw the tin, I thought it’d be a plain red candle, or maybe have a heart pattern across it. Nope; it’s a white candle with a red heart essentially stuck onto the top, letting the red bleed beautifully into the white of the main candle. It’s gorgeous, and I didn’t think I’d be able to use it because of that, but then I sniffed it and realised I have to use it. It smells of watermelon, jasmine and violet which is completely lovely and end up smelling very sweet and (to me) like the haribo heart sweets from the starmix packets.

The next box’s theme is ‘Be My Guest’, probably because of the new Beauty and The Beast film which is out this month, and I would love to order one but alas my bank balance disagrees with my need for this box. I will be buying another crate in the future, just not yet. I’ll definitely use up all these products but I’ll be sad to see them go. 10/10 would buy again!

 

Leave a Reply

